Spiritual Reality of Hajj

The Spiritual Reality of Hajj

Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam alongside Oneness (Tauheed), daily prayers (Salat), fasting (Sawm) and Zakat. Hajj literally means ‘to visit or ‘to intend to do something’. According to sharia, it is a particular form of worship which the pilgrims perform in the holy city of Makkah. This includes places such as Mina, plain of Arafat, Muzdalifah and holy Kaaba from 6th to 13th of Dhul al-Hijjah. Hajj became obligatory in 9th Hijri. It is incumbent at least once in a life time upon every Muslim adult who is physically, financially and circumstantially capable of undertaking the sacred journey to holy Kaaba. The denier of Hajj is expunged from Islam. One who delays in performing Hajj or renounces it without a legitimate excuse is a sinner, reprobate and impious, it is commanded not to accept his testimony. Allah says in the Quran:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top